All The Write Moves….

Posted: October 21, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The indie-writer movement has spawned a plethora of self-realizations over the last 18 months, thus having a domino effect in our day-to-day mundane routines that were once an ecstasy dream-filled haven of writer goals.

The fact that we indies feel compelled to be online and ever so-connected 24/7 may drive our friends and family insane. From whence we were held-up, in a sustaining self-hostage scenario, writing day and night, night and day, week after week and month after month, has to have alienated a few lovers and caused a few divorces. Not to mention our teenagers driving pins into cyber voodoo dolls as they curse us for paying them less attention than our laptops.

Alas, ’tis the curse, the double-edged sword of rebellious independence. Now that we have have finished our Stockholm Syndrome relationship with our novel, we create more work by becoming publicists, not just for ourselves but for our fellow writers. Not a mortal sin but a guilt-driven bond to help thy neighbor. As if that is not enough, we begin a blog and then a newsletter. Suddenly after a few interviews, we are now advisors to the literati. Yes we can ! Yes we must! But don’t forget to Twitter that blog and Facebook that newsletter…or is it the other way around…

I soon got on Reddit and then found several other NETWORKING sites recommended by an Online GURU only to find every waking hour filled with typing emails and trying to read every book under the E sun. Omg, am I having an HP Lovecraft epiphany or just carpal tunnel syndrome…. 

As I read other blogs and communiques from my beloved authors I noticed a funny thing. They soon were sending out emails explaining why they couldn’t keep sending out blogs. My conclusion was that indeed one does have to stop and smell the roses. That being online, on the mobile phone, laptop or iPad more than 8 hours a day was altering my creativity. “I am a human being not a human machine” I uttered to myself at the Starbucks at Plaza Hollywood in Cancun.  But I looked around and found every Mexican inside and out on their mobile or lapto even while they chatted to another human being. the conciousness had been altered. That Orwellian feeling overcame my entire body as I rushed to the bathroom to escape the overwhelming state of cyber chaos. I slapped cold water onto my blushing face. I quickly snapped out it and realized that I was dreaming within a dream.

My crowing rooster alarm awakened me as I lay across the keyboard, the sun rising above the thatched roof outside my bungalow. I could smell the tequila from the night before and noticed my long list of notes and to-do list.

I read the list outloud and began writing….All The Right Moves….

Leave a Reply

